DAYLIGHT AFTER A CENTURY: Dr. George Djerdjian’s Collection of Photographs of Pre-1915 Ottoman Life

Ararat-Eskijian Museum Armenian Institute Dr. George Djeredjian NAASR Project SAVE Armenian Photograph Archives

 

CLICK THE PICTURE TO VIEW THE VIDEO

Saturday, August 21, 2021at 6pm GMT/1pm ET/10am PT
On Zoom and NAASR's YouTube channel Armenian Studies

Screening of the video documentary and discussion with author George Jerjian, grandson of Dr. George Djerdjian.

Dr. George Djerdjian (1870-1947) took 240 photographs of his hometown of Arabkir and his college town of Erzerum between 1900 and 1907, of which only about 100 survive. These photographs capture the way of life of a people that within a decade would become extinct in their homeland for over 3,000 years

For over a century, these photographs were stored in a grey steel box, which migrated from Arabkir to Alexandria, Egypt, where it stayed for almost 50 years. Then it moved with descendants to Khartoum, Sudan, where it stayed for 20 years, then onto London, England, for 30 years, and then to Washington, D.C., for about 10 years. Now this collection of photographs has finally been exposed to daylight after a century of darkness.

CO-SPONSORS
Ararat-Eskijian Museum
Armenian Institute
Project SAVE Armenian Photographic Archives
National Association for Armenian Studies and Research (NAASR)

 


Older Post Newer Post