Mardigian Library Open by Appointment
Mardigian Library Open by Appointment

EVERYDAY COSMOPOLITANISMS: Living the Silk Road in Medieval Armenia ~ Sunday, October 31, 2021 ~ On Zoom/YouTube

Armenian Institute Everyday Cosmopolitanisms Kate Franklin NAASR Nik Matheou Silk Road

Sunday, October 31, 2021 at 6pm UK / 1pm EDT / 10am PDT
Live on Zoom. Registration is required and free.
Livestream on NAASR’s YouTube channel Armenian Studies.

PRESENTER
DR. KATE FRANKLIN, Director of the Masters Program in Medical History, Department of History, Classics and Archaeology, Birkbeck University of London

DISCUSSANT
DR. NIK MATHEOU, Historian of medieval Armenia, Programme Manager, Armenian Institute

Join NAASR and the Armenian Institute for a book launch and discussion of Dr. Kate Franklin’s groundbreaking study Everyday Cosmopolitanisms: Living the Silk Road in Medieval Armenia. While the Silk Road is widely studied, hotly debated, and often viewed as a precursor to contemporary globalization, the lives of ordinary people who lived on these nexuses of intercontinental exchange. Dr. Franklin sets out to correct this picture, guiding the reader through increasingly intimate scales of global exchange to highlight the cosmopolitan dimensions of daily life, as she vividly reconstructs how people living in and passing through the medieval Caucasus understood the world and their place within it.

With innovative focus on the far-reaching implications of local practices, Everyday Cosmopolitanisms brings the study of medieval Eurasia into relation with contemporary discussions of cosmopolitanism and globalization, and challenges persistent divisions between modern and medieval, global and local.

CO-SPONSORS
Armenian Institute
National Association for Armenian Studies and Research (NAASR)

Everyday Cosmopolitanisms: Living the Silk Road in Medieval Armenia is available in the NAASR Bookstore.

Click here for the flyer.  Click here to watch the video.


Older Post Newer Post